Getting here

Where is Hardy Country?

Hardy Country is located in the South West of England. The Wessex of Thomas Hardy’s novels and poems is a semi-fictional area

Hardy's Wessex

Getting here is easy…

We’ve put together a series of useful links to help you discover more about Thomas Hardy and help you plan your journey to Hardy Country. This is just a small selection.
Please note that we are not responsible for the content of other sites.

Journey Planning

Sustrans – Travel by foot, bike or public transport http://www.sustrans.org.uk
Transport Direct – Plan your journey using public transport http://directgov.transportdirect.info
Transport for London – Travel planning and information www.tfl.gov.uk
Travel Line South West – Journey planner and bus timetables www.travelinesw.com

By Air

Bournemouth Airport – BOH www.bournemouthairport.com
London Gatwick Airport – LGW www.gatwickairport.com
London Heathrow Airport – LHR www.heathrowairport.com

By Car

AA Route Planner www.theaa.com/route-planner
RAC Route Planner www.rac.co.uk/route-planner
Via Michelin www.viamichelin.co.uk

By Bus or Coach

National Express – Coach Operator www.nationalexpress.com
Plus Bus – integrated train and bus tickets www.plusbus.info

By Train

Dorchester South Train Station – General information
Dorchester West Train Station – General information www.nationalrail.co.uk/stations/dcw/details.html
First Great Western – Check train times and ticket prices
Heart of Wessex Line –
National Rail Enquiries – Check train times and ticket prices
South West Trains – Check train times and ticket prices
Swanage Railway – Heritage steam and diesel trains www.swanagerailway.co.uk
Trainline – Check train times and ticket prices www.thetrainline.com

Maps

Google Maps – Fully interactive maps with street view http://maps.google.co.uk
Ordnance Survey OpenData – Fully interacive maps www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk

Travel News

BBC Travel News – Dorset www.bbc.co.uk/travelnews/dorset
Highways Agency http://www.highways.gov.uk
Traffic England http://www.trafficengland.com

General Travel information

Money Saving Expert – Travel Guides www.moneysavingexpert.com