Useful Links

Useful Links to help you make the most of your trip.

 
We’ve put together a series of useful links to help you discover more about Thomas Hardy and help you plan your journey to Hardy Country. This is just a small selection.

Please note that the sites listed below are for reference only, and we do not recommend any one company or organisation over another. We are not responsible for the content of external sites nor any agreement you may enter into.


Reference Material

Thomas Hardy’s Wessex www.st-andrews.ac.uk/~bp10/wessex/introduction/index.shtml

Events

Dorset County Museum events www.dorsetcountymuseum.org/events
National Trust events www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/whats-on/
Thomas Hardy Society events http://www.hardysociety.org/index.php/events

Accommodation

Britain’s Finest – Luxury accommodation guide www.britainsfinest.co.uk
Caravan Club – Caravan & Camping sites www.caravanclub.co.uk/
Hotels Comparison – Hotel price comparison site www.hotelscomparison.com
Last Minute – Last minute travel deals www.lastminute.com
National Trust Cottages – www.nationaltrustcottages.co.uk
Sawday’s – Special places to stay www.sawdays.co.uk
Trip Advisor – Plan the perfect trip www.tripadvisor.co.uk
Trivago – Hotel price comparison site  www.trivago.co.uk

Tourist Information

Dorchester Tourist Information Office www.westdorset.com
Visit Britain – Official site of the British National Tourist Board www.visitbritain.org
Visit Dorset – Official tourism site for Dorset www.visit-dorset.com
Visit England – Official site of the English National Tourist Board www.visitengland.com
Visit South West England www.visitsouthwest.co.uk

Travel Guides

 Lonely Planet  www.lonelyplanet.com
Rough Guides www.roughguides.com

Walks/Tours

Thomas Hardy Society – downloadable walk guides (PDF format) www.hardysociety.org/index.php/resources/walks

Further Reading

Dorset Life Magazine www.dorsetlife.co.uk
Dorset County Council www.dorsetforyou.com/county

Wikipedia Articles

England – Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England
Thomas Hardy – Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Hardy
Thomas Hardy’s Wessex – Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Hardy%27s_Wessex
United Kingdom – Wikipedia  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom

Mobile Phone & Tablet Apps

National Trust – Handbook in your pocket (free on both iOS & Android) www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/places/find-a-place-to-visit/mobile-apps/